And so the citrus obsession continues. I am just so thrilled to have found out that citrus has a season. Ridiculous, I know, but it’s true. It had probably never occurred to me because I’ve never lived anywhere suited to growing citrus. Instead, I’ve lived in the northern reaches where lemons, limes and oranges are available year-round at the supermarket.

We’re January babies, most of the citrus family and me. Given how much I love my birthday and try to stretch it to an entire season, usually only achieving a couple weeks before some other tangelo has a turn, it seems right for citrus and I to be kindred spirits. Citrus season is my new favorite birthday event and I’m already planning to have something involving Meyer lemon curd for my birthday cake (tart? pie?) next year.

After tracking down some Meyer lemon’s this week, couldn’t wait to make this lemon curd from Epicurious. It had numerous rave reviews and I agree completely. It was easy to make, beautiful and delicious! So good I am saving some of the remaining Meyer’s to make more.

3-4 Meyer lemons (enough to get 2 tsp. of zest and 1/2 c. of juice, it only took me 2 1/2 lemons to achieve this)
1/2 c. sugar
2 large eggs
1 stick of butter cut into 4 pieces
(I had to look up how much is in a “stick”, turns out it’s about 1/2 c.)

1. Whisk: zest, juice, sugar, & eggs in a metal bowl.
You will be heating this double boiler style so if you don’t seem to have a metal bowl…ahem, Bree…then just use a pot that will fit into another one to simulate the bowl. This is also a good time to start that water simmering in the bottom pot. 

2. Add butter.

3. Put your bowl/pot over the simmering water and begin whisking.

4. Continue whisking until the curd is thick, smooth, and around 160 degrees F on a thermometer.

The next step was to push the curd through a sieve to remove the zest bits but I like their flecks of dark yellow so I didn’t bother with this. Besides who wants to waste all that curd on the sieve! If you can stop yourself from eating it all by the spoonful, straight from the pot, you should apparently cover it with wax paper, presumably to stop it from forming a yucky skin on the top.

